The Right to Remain Silent.

The assumption that our loved ones are ignorant or do not care about a particular thing because they haven’t voiced it on social media is straight up garbage and I won’t take part of the movement that shames people for processing in silence.

I think social media only gets louder as we watch it grow each year. I mean, opinions everywhere (says the blogger, right? 🙄). But I’m about to say a true thang and you’re probably gonna have a hard time reading it.

You ready?

I have spoken to women who consciously decided not to post about the Women’s March that took place on January 21st.

Want another one?

I have spoken to people who have cried for but have not publicly voiced an opinion about the 90 day Muslim ban that President Trump signed an executive order on a few days ago.

Though this may shock you, I think that it is VERY important that we understand and respect a person’s individual decision to plead the fifth. Regardless of your stance, have peace in this:

You have the right to remain silent.

Here’s why..

The expectancy to publicly march, protest, or post about social/political issues has become a form of bullying that I refuse to subscribe to. I believe that this unfair pressure puts many people in a position to echo the voices of opinions that they don’t fully understand or have not fully researched.

We have to stop this.

We have to stop pressuring our families and friends to quickly publish poorly researched opinions just for the sake of having one.

Here’s another one: what if they don’t care? What if someone genuinely does not care about what is going on in the world around them? Who are we to shame them? Who are we to bash women for not marching or people of color for not changing their Twitter avi to a black fist in the air? Don’t they have a right to not care?

In the age of inclusivity and unity, we have lost the value in being individuals. If you’re still reading this, it’s probably because you’ve felt the pressure that I’m talking about. Perhaps I’ve unknowingly inflicted you with this terrible feeling. I want to first apologize. Secondly, I want to help you.

Yes, it is possible to care about something and NOT post about it.

Yes, empathy can be a private thing.

Yes, simply praying is enough. For those of you who believe faith without works is dead, I want you to know that I agree with you and I believe that prayer is considered ‘work’.

I refuse to be guilted for not being as loud as others on Instagram. I also don’t want to judge anyone wanting to be loud and stomp and take charge. All I’m asking is that we respect the folks who are emotionally or mentally unable to to keep up with the chaotic Facebook conversation that folks have somehow decided is the official way to show that you care or are “woke”.

If you’ve gotten this far, you either agree wholeheartedly or disagree and thought my narrative would change by now.

But I’m pretty firm on this one.

You who feel the pressure to speak up on social media about what everyone else is screaming their heads off about-

You have the right to remain silent.

Leave a Reply

